Adelaide Summer Orchestra

Next Performance

Watch this space. The performance hasn't been decided yet.


16th January 2022, 7:00pm

Ticket Pricing



Nicholas Braithwaite


Michael Irace


Dmitri Shostakovich - Piano Concerto No, 2 in F major - Symphony No, 5 in D minor

About the Adelaide Summer Orchestra

The Adelaide Summer Orchestra, founded in 2013, is comprised of talented amateur musicians, advanced students and local professionals, all drawn from across South Australia. The motivation behind the orchestra’s formation was to provide a platform for inspiring musicians of all levels to play large and challenging works of music, normally only achievable by professional level orchestras. By combining the best of Adelaide’s musical community, the possibilities are endless and exciting. Past concerts have included solo concerti and symphonies, including Gustav Mahler's Symphonies 1 & 4, Gustav Holst's The Planets and Edvard Grieg’s Piano Concerto.

Assembling annually, the Summer Orchestra rehearses for two weeks prior to a concert at the Norwood Concert Hall, which is usually held in the last weekend in January. The players each pay a fee of about $60, which is a contribution to the costs of operating the orchestra, including the rehearsal hall, concert hall, and hiring of music scores. Importantly, this allows for the proceeds of each concert to go to a nominated charity. We have supported both Anglicare and Save the Children, raising over $6000 for the latter in 2017.

Applications from musicians to join this orchestra are continually received and new players are welcomed to play alongside our established members to enjoy the experience of playing music at a high standard. Our events are very much looked forward to by players and audience alike, as we continue to grow both our organisation and local reputation.

Our Performances

17 January
ProgramFrank Bridge - "Oration" Concerto elegiaco
Dimitri Shostakovich - "October" Op. 131.
ConductorNicholas Braithwaite
SoloistSimon Cobcroft
Supported CharitySave the Children
19 January
ProgramFlorence Price - Symphony No. 1
Sergei Rachmaninov - Piano Concerto No. 2
ConductorNicholas Braithwaite
SoloistMichael Ierace
Supported CharitySave the Children
21 January
Program'West Side Story' Symphonic Dances by Leonard Bernstein
Concerto in F for Piano and Orchestra by George Gershwin
ConductorBryan Griffiths
PianistMichael Ierace
Supported CharitySave the Children
22 January
ProgramHolst – The Planets
ConductorBryan Griffiths
Supported CharitySave the Children
17 January
ProgramGrieg – Piano Concerto in A Minor
Sibelius – Symphony No 5 in Eb Major, Opus 82
ConductorBryan Griffiths
SoloistMekhla Kumar
Supported CharitySave the Children
18 January
ProgramMahler – Symphony No 4 in G Major
ConductorPhilip Paine
SoloistKirsti Harms
Supported CharitySave the Children
20 January
ConductorBryan Griffiths
Supported CharityAnglicare SA

Applications to Join the Adelaide Summer Orchestra are closed until October 2021.

Our Sponsors